Orange County DUI Attorney
Defending Those Facing DUI Charges in California
If you are facing charges for driving under the influence, do not attempt to handle them on your own. In California, driving under the influence charges are aggressively pursued by the prosecution. DUI charges in Laguna Hills also carry harsh penalties that have devastating impacts on your future if convicted. With your future and freedom on the line, it is important that you seek the representation of an experienced DUI defense lawyer.
At Alan Castillo - Attorney at Law, my firm has over 25 years of experience handling 5,000+ cases. Our attorneys are not afraid to take your case to trial if necessary! As an experienced Laguna Beach DUI lawyer, I have what it takes to defend your rights. We evaluate all the details of your arrest to build the strongest defense possible. We focus on your future first because your success is our success.
Are you facing a DUI charge? Call Alan Castillo - Attorney at Law at (949) 234-6525 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation with our DUI attorney in Orange County.
What is a DUI in California?
In the State of California, driving under the influence, often referred to simply as "DUI," occurs when an individual is under the control of a motor vehicle while also under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance. For drivers over the age of 21, the legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit is .08, while it is a mere .01 for those under the age of 21. In addition to this, drivers of commercial vehicles are held to stricter standards, and the legal limit for them is .04.
Can I Move to Another State With a DUI in CA?
If you have been convicted of DUI but later move out of California, the consequences of a DUI conviction can impact your future. Trying to obtain a driver's license in your new home state can be frustrating. If you fail to complete your required DUI class in California, you may not be issued a driver's license, even in a new state. A 1650 Waiver is a request placed with the CA DMV to waive the requirement for the DUI class to be completed in person.
What are the Penalties for a First-Time DUI Conviction in California?
Some of the penalties that you could be facing for a first-time DUI conviction include:
- Four days to six months in jail
- A fine of up to $1,000
- A driver's license suspension of 30 days up to 10 months
- The installation of an interlock ignition device in your vehicle
Protect Your Future With a Strong Legal Defense
Put simply, being charged with a DUI can be a very serious matter, even if this is your first run-in with the law. First-time offenders face a wide range of penalties, including jail time, fines, license suspensions, and more. In addition to this, a conviction will stay on your DMV record for several years, causing your insurance premiums to skyrocket. Also, with a permanent criminal record, you may face numerous challenges in both your personal and professional life and current or future employment opportunities may be put in jeopardy.
Contact Our DUI Lawyer in Orange County Today
With so much at stake, including your freedom and driving privileges, it goes without saying that which Orange County DUI lawyer you choose to handle your case is of the utmost importance. At Alan Castillo - Attorney at Law, my firm aggressively defends clients against all types of DUI charges, including Drug-Related DUI and Multiple DUIs.
From the moment that I accept your case, I will begin thoroughly examining all relevant evidence and determine if law enforcement officials were within their legal rights when pulling your vehicle over and making an arrest. My goal is to fight the charges head-on, and I am never afraid to take a case to trial should that become the best option.
Contact Alan Castillo - Attorney at Law, today to speak with our Orange County DUI attorney.