Drug Possession Defense Attorney in Laguna Beach
Reputation for Results in Orange County
California takes drug possession charges seriously. A conviction can result
in harsh penalties. If you have been accused of this offense in Orange
County or the surrounding areas, your first step should be to retain the
services of a skilled criminal defense attorney – especially one
with experience handling drug possession charges in the local courts.
Contact me at Alan Castillo – Attorney at Law for quality legal representation.
I have over 25 years of experience and will give your case the attention
and effort it needs. Over the decades, I have built a strong reputation
for getting results, obtaining favorable outcomes for individuals facing
various types of charges. My work has been recognized by such legal industry
groups as Avvo, with a Superb rating, and the National Trial Lawyers as
a Top 100 Trial Lawyer. I develop and maintain close working relationships
with people I represent, and I provide honest advocacy.
If you've been arrested for drug possession, reach out to my firm by calling
(949) 234-6525 or
submitting an online contact form today. Your initial case evaluation is free.
Drug Possession Laws in California
Under California Health and Safety Code 11350 and 11377, simple possession
of a controlled substance and possession for personal use is a crime.
The laws concern all illegal drugs listed under the Controlled Substances
Act, such as:
The use of prescription medications, such as Vicodin, OxyContin, Adderall,
Valium, and Fentanyl, without a valid prescription is also unlawful.
Drug possession generally involves control over the substance. You can
be in control of a drug not only by having it on your person but also
in your car, in a locker, or in your home or office. You must possess
a useable amount to be charged, not traces or debris. However, the amount
does not necessarily have to be enough to cause intoxication.
Generally, drug possession crimes are charged as misdemeanors that carry
penalties of up to 1 year in jail and/or fines of up to $1,000. Those
who qualify may be granted a drug diversion program that requires completion
of a drug treatment program to avoid jail time.
Marijuana Possession in California
In 2018, California legalized recreational use marijuana. However, possession
of the substance in quantities above the legal limit can still result
in a misdemeanor or infraction charge.
Possession of more than 28.5 grams of marijuana or more than 8 grams of
hashish is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months in a county jail
and/or fines of up to $500. It is also a misdemeanor to possess marijuana
on the grounds of any kindergarten through grade 12 school. Both of these
crimes are charged as infractions for anyone under the age of 18.
It is also an infraction for anyone under the age of 21 to possess any
amount of marijuana.
The possession of marijuana with the intent to sell is generally charged
as a misdemeanor if you do not have a valid license. This crime is punishable
by up to 6 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $500. It is charged as
a felony if you have a prior serious felony conviction, 2 or more prior
marijuana convictions for possession with intent to sell, or if the attempted
sale involved a minor under the age of 18.
Protect Yourself with Help from Alan Castillo – Attorney at Law
Any drug possession charge can result in a permanent criminal record. This
can have impacts on your future, affecting employment, housing, professional
licenses, and more. It can also have negative immigration consequences
for non-citizens. That is why it's important to have a skilled lawyer
on your side.
Contact my firm at
(949) 234-6525 today for legal assistance.